Martin L. Gore - MG -  [2Vinyl+CD]  

Martin L. Gore - MG - [2Vinyl+CD]


Includes a bonus CD copy of the album

Martin Gore, songwriter and founding member of Depeche Mode, announces the releases of 'MG', an evocative 16-track electronic instrumental album out on 27 April 2015 on Mute.

Release Date: April 27, 2015
Number of Discs: 3
Format: Vinyl
Medium type: Audio Vinyl LP
Artist: Martin Lee Gore

More details

Written and produced by Martin Gore, work began on 'MG' following the final dates of Depeche Mode's 'Delta Machine' tour in March 2013 at Gore's home studio in Santa Barbara. An entire instrumental album had been in his thoughts for some time, particularly since he has been writing instrumentals for Depeche Mode since 1981.

"I wanted to keep the music very electronic, very filmic and give it an almost sci-fi like quality," Martin explains. "Music is a necessity for me. I go into the studio at least 5 days a week, every week, so once I had the idea and the template, the process was quick and fun."

'MG' is a soundtrack to an emotional and mysterious film of your own design. From the Angelo Badalmenti - like atmosphere of 'Elk' to the industrial electro swagger of 'Brink', it landscapes a unique and arresting vision.

After finishing recording 'MG', Martin asked Q to mix it which seemed a perfectly natural choice as he previously mixed VCMG, Martin Gore and Vince Clarke's 2012 album, 'SSSS'.

Explaining the decision to release the album under the acronym, MG, Gore says, "As the album is very electronic and has no vocals, I felt it deserved another persona so decided to carry on the MG concept from the VCMG album."

'MG' showcases another side to this multi-talented musician. "As a songwriter, I am aware of the power of words," Martin admits. "Especially when they are juxtaposed in the right way with chords and melody. I am also aware of the power of pure music and the emotions that can be created by musical atmospheres and that is what I wanted to capture with this project.

Tracks - SIDE A

1. Pinking         

2. Swanning     

3. Exalt            

4. Elk  


Tracks - SIDE B

1. Brink            

2. Europa Hymn          

3. Creeper       

4. Spiral


Tracks - SIDE C

1. Stealth         

2. Hum             

3. Islet              

4. Crowly         


Tracks - SIDE D

1. Trysting        

2. Southerly     

3. Featherlight             

4. Blade

Artist Martin Lee Gore
Medium type Audio LP

Other products in the same category: (21)